If I were brave

Most of the time there are songs playing in my head, not the “ear bugs”, the song you hear over and over and can’t get out of your head, that’s a whole different topic.  I mean songs that relate to a situation. When people talk or post of social media or when I see situations happening different songs play through my head relating to what they’re talking about.

Sometimes it’s just when I think about what I’m doing. Today I woke up with “If I were Brave” by the Four Bitchin Babes. Every time I start a new chapter I sing it. To me brave isn’t doing things like bunji jumping, to me that’s just dumb, to me it’s life changes that may or may not work out.

Saying no to my child or giving him unpleasant lessons to push him to succeed, that’s one of the most terrifying things ever. What if he got mad and stopped talking to me? What if I never see him again? What if blah blah blah. But what if he succeeds because of it?

I quit my life of manufacturing jobs when I was in my forties to go into healthcare. That took a leap of faith. It led me down a new path that has been wonderful. It has given me insight into who I am and can be.

I took on a job a couple of years ago that I didn’t have the paper qualifications for but enough people had faith in me that I was able to walk through the fear. I still struggle with some of it because I feel like I fall behind others that have had an education, the age old “I’m not good enough” scenario, but no one has fired me yet so I must be doing alright.

At any rate. Today’s “if I were brave” moment is this, this blog. It has taken a couple of years of people telling me I should try it. It’s another leap f faith, stepping into the abyss and knowing my higher power is will catch me. This is sending my life, me feeling and thoughts for the world to see.

It’s not like doing whatever I want willy nilly, it’s taking steps to do the next right thing. It’s leaving enough options open to step back if I need to. It’s not worrying as much about “what if I fail” as it is being afraid of not trying and never knowing if it’ll work. Which is how I pretty much live my life.

What would you do today if you were brave?

3 thoughts on “If I were brave

  1. Wow, as I was reading along (WHICH I DON’T READ JUST SAYING) I could hear your voice reading too me lol but,I do remember some things that you had written about. I enjoyed reading this

    Like

  2. I felt brave when I started my own business in my 46th year. I feel brave now, in my 62nd year, for selling my business and working for someone else for the next 28 months. Sometimes, it takes a leap of faith to do anything new. Some folks embrace it; others run away from it. I’m finding as I get older, I’m more open to trying new things. Loving your blogs…it brings me back to the 4 years we were roommates.

    Like

Leave a Reply

